Royalty was welcomed to the house in 1642 when King Charles I stayed there en route to Shrewsbury, and the house retains an extensive collection of period furniture and architectural features. It is also the home of the Staffordshire Yeomanry Museum.
|Built in around 1595 for the wealthy Dorrington family, the ornate timber framed building is reputed to be the largest surviving timber framed town house in England from the Tudor period.
In 1986 the house opened as a museum and now provides a fascinating glimpse into the lives of the people who have lived there over the centuries.
Certificate of Excellence
Visit the Civil War Room where King Charles 1st and Prince Rupert stayed during their brief visit to the town; view the Stuart Bedroom with its magnificent four poster bed; admire the elegant splendour of the Wallpaper Room with its Georgian displays; visit Mr. Marson in his Edwardian Shop; and observe the grand comfort of the Victorian Room.
To learn more about how the house was built the Castle Room has an interesting display showing and explaining the method of construction and the materials used - our visitors young and old find this room fascinating!
The attic floor is home to the Staffordshire Yeomanry Regiment Museum, founded in 1794. As a local volunteer force the Yeomanry saw active service for over 200 years. The extensive range of items on display reflects their illustrious and distinguished history.
An exciting programme of exhibitions by regional artists takes place in two gallery spaces and a changing history exhibition gives visitors the opportunity to view a range of artefacts not generally on public display.
There is a school and group tour programme and occasional themed tours, talks and workshops to support our history exhibitions. Throughout the year we have an exciting range of events, activities and workshops that bring added colour and bustle to the rooms.
Our ground floor shop offers a wide range of gifts, souvenirs, traditional toys and local crafts. And we stock an extensive range of local history books.
With hands on activities, children's games and quizzes there is something for all the family.
The Ancient High House is located on Greengate Street, Stafford, ST16 2JA and is open from Tuesday to Saturday 10.00am - 4.00pm. Admission is free with the exception of some events. For Bank Holiday opening details please check with the Visitor Information Centre on 01785 619619.
Click the marker and then the 'directions' link to find your way there.
The Ancient High House offers school tours covering keystages 1 through 3 and activities include pomander making, calligraphy, wattle and daub, and coin minting. The tours are tailored to meet the national curriculum in various subjects.
For more information about the school tours that are available at Stafford Castle please see our Heritage School Tours page.
For a stunningly different wedding experience, consider taking your vows in true Elizabethan Style at the Ancient High House, the largest Timber framed town house in England.
For more information about weddings at the Ancient High House please see our Heritage Weddings page.
Because of the many steps, access to the house is extremely difficult for people with severe mobility impairment. However guides are always willing to give any assistance possible. Please phone 01785 619131 for more information.