

## Minutes of the Annual Council (Appointments) Meeting held at the County Buildings, Martin Street, Stafford on Monday 13 May 2024

## Councillor Frank James (Mayor)

Present (for all or part of the meeting):-

#### Councillors:

K M Aspin R Kenney
J A Barron A M Loughran
F Beatty B McKeown
E L Carter A Nixon
R P Cooke L Nixon

B M Cross G P K Pardesi M G Dodson A N Pearce J M Pert A P Edgeller P C Edgeller J P Read I D Fordham A F Reid A T A Godfrey J T Rose A D Hobbs D P Rouxel J Hood A J Sandiford R A James S N Spencer E G R Jones J Thorley

P W Jones M J Winnington

P A Leason

#### Officers in attendance:-

T Clegg - Chief Executive

I Curran
 J Dean
 Democratic Services Officer
 J Allen
 Head of Law and Governance
 Democratic Services Officer

#### C7 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors A G Cooper, A R McNaughton, D M McNaughton, J A Nixon, M Phillips and J S Powell.

#### C8 Minutes

The Minutes of the previous meeting held on 11 May 2024 were agreed as a true and correct record.

## C9 Leaders Appointments to the Cabinet and Appointment of Deputy Leader of the Council

The Leader of the Council advised Members of the following Cabinet Member appointments:-

Councillor R Kenney - Deputy Leader (Town Centres Regeneration)

Councillor R P Cooke - Resources Portfolio

Councillor J Hood - Community Portfolio

Councillor G P K Pardesi - Leisure Portfolio

Councillor I D Fordham - Environment Portfolio

Councillor A F Reid - Economic Development and Planning Portfolio

Councillor A N Pearce - Climate Action and Nature Recovery

RESOLVED:- that the appointments made by the Leader of the Council be noted.

## C10 Appointment of Committees and Allocation of Seats Thereto

The Leader of the Council proposed the appointments to the Committees and Working Groups for the 2024/25 Municipal Year as set out in the document as circulated, which were seconded by Councillor J M Pert.

On being put to the vote, the following proposals were declared to be carried.

RESOLVED:- that the undermentioned Committees and Working Groups be established:-

### **RESOURCES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)**

Councillors:	
K M Aspin	B McKeown
E L Carter	A Nixon
M G Dodson	J S Powell
R A James	J P Read
A M Loughran	M J Winnington

Chair - Councillor M J Winnington

## ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND PLANNING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
J A Barron	A M Loughran
F Beatty	D M McNaughton
B M Cross	A Nixon
P C Edgeller	J S Powell
E G R Jones	D P Rouxel

Chair - Councillor F Beatty

## **COMMUNITY WELLBEING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE** (10 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
J A Barron	D M McNaughton
A G Cooper	L Nixon
A P Edgeller	M Phillips
A D Hobbs	J T Rose
P A Leason	J Thorley

Chair - Councillor A P Edgeller

## **AUDIT AND ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (6 MEMBERS)**

Councillors:	
K M Aspin	A M Loughran
M G Dodson	A R McNaughton
P A Leason	D P Rouxel

Chair - Councillor M G Dodson

## **LICENSING COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)**

Councillors:	
J A Barron	L Nixon
A P Edgeller	M Phillips
P A Leason	J P Read
A M Loughran	J T Rose
J A Nixon	J Thorley

Chair - Councillor A M Loughran

## PLANNING COMMITTEE (11 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
B M Cross	A R McNaughton
I D Fordham	A Nixon
A D Hobbs	M Phillips
E G R Jones	A J Sandiford
P W Jones	S N Spencer
B McKeown	·

Chair - Councillor B McKeown Vice-Chair - Councillor A Nixon

## **PUBLIC APPEALS COMMITTEE (7 MEMBERS)**

Councillors:	
J A Barron	P W Jones
E L Carter	A Nixon
P C Edgeller	J A Nixon
A D Hobbs	

Chair - Councillor A Nixon

(Substitutes - Councillors I D Fordham, A R McNaughton, M Phillips, S N Spencer)

# EMPLOYEE APPEALS AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE (5 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
J Hood	D P Rouxel
P W Jones	J Thorley
A M Loughran	•

Chair - Councillor A M Loughran

## **STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 MEMBERS)**

Councillors:	
P C Edgeller	A J Sandiford
A R McNaughton	M J Winnington
J T Rose	

Chair - Councillor A R McNaughton

## JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (3 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
R P Cooke	J M Pert
A N Pearce	

Chair - Councillor R P Cooke

### **WORKING GROUPS**

### **MEMBERS FACILITIES GROUP (4 MEMBERS)**

Councillors:	
A P Edgeller	P A Leason
A D Hobbs	D P Rouxel

## MEMBER DEVELOPMENT WORKING GROUP (5 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
A G Cooper	B McKeown
A D Hobbs	D M McNaughton
P W Jones	

## C11 Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies and Organisations

The Leader of the Council proposed the appointment of representatives to Outside Bodies and Organisations for the 2024/25 Municipal Year as set out in the document as circulated, which were seconded by Councillor J M Pert.

On being put to the vote, the uncontested appointments were declared to be carried.

Organisation	Representative(s)
STRATEGIC	
Local Government	A T A Godfrey
Association - Annual	R Kenney
Conference (Group	J M Pert
Leaders)	D P Rouxel
Stafford District Arts	J Hood
Council	P W Jones
	G P K Pardesi
	D P Rouxel
Staffordshire	I D Fordham
Sustainability Board	A N Pearce
Regional Employers	R P Cooke
Organisation for Local	
Government in the West	
Midlands	

PRIORITY	
West Coast Rail - 250	A F Reid
11001 00001110 = 200	M J Winnington
Staffordshire Police,	J A Barron (sub)
Fire and Crime Panel	A M Loughran
Health and Care	A P Edgeller
Overview and Scrutiny	A i Lugellei
Committee	
(Staffordshire County	
Council)	
,	A D Hobbs
Corporate Parenting	A D Hobbs
Panel	
Community Chaffard United Charities	LA Dawar
Stafford United Charities	J A Barron
Trustees	A M Loughran
Otaffand Danie	J M Pert
Stafford Borough	J A Barron
Horticultural Committee	A Nixon
(Allotments)	A N Pearce
	D P Rouxel
Stafford Borough	A Nixon
Horticultural Show	
Committee	
Best Kept Village	J T Rose
Competition	
Joint Playing Fields	E G R Jones
Committee (Barlaston)	
Sir Graham Balfour High	A R McNaughton
School Management	
Liaison Group - Sports	
Facilities	
Swynnerton Village Hall	R A James
Management	
Committee	
Cotes and Standon	P W Jones
Community Centre	
Management	
Committee	
Colwich and Haywood	B McKeown
Community Association	
Council of Management	A N Pearce
of Broad Eye Windmill	
(Stafford)	
Stafford Narrow Gauge	B M Cross
Railway Society	
Walton (Stone)	J S Powell
Community Centre -	
Management	
Committee	
	1

West Midlands Reserve	B M Cross
Forces and Cadets	
Association	
Mid-Staffordshire	G P K Pardesi
Bereavement Group -	
Bereavement and Loss	
Support Group	
Local Liaison	R A James
Committee -	
Swynnerton ROF Site	
Sow and Penk Drainage	F Beatty
Board	R P Cooke
	A M Loughran
	B McKeown
	S N Spencer
	M J Winnington
Relate North	D M McNaughton
Staffordshire and	
Stafford	
Campaign to Protect	A F Reid
Rural England	S N Spencer
(Staffordshire Branch)	
Stafford Sports College	A D Hobbs
- Baseline Tennis -	
Tennis Centre	
Committee	
PLASMET (UK) LTD	B McKeown
Site Liaison Committee	

RESOLVED:- that the appointments set out above be made to Outside Bodies and Organisations for the 2024/25 Municipal year.

## C12 Appointment of Town Warden

The Leader of the Council proposed the appointment of Mrs Susan Savage as Town Warden for the ensuing year, which was duly seconded by Councillor J M Pert

Members then voted on the proposal as set out, which was declared to be carried.

RESOLVED:- that the appointment of Mrs Susan Savage as Town Warden for the ensuing year be confirmed.

**MAYOR**